Pick of the Day – Animal Rennet Halaal or haraam


There has been a lot of confusion surrounding the announcement by Master Foods to introduce Animal Rennet into their sweets and chocolates and many of us are confused as to whether it is Halal or not. The following are some of the Fatwa’s floating around on the net: 

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=7&ID=432&CATE=29

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

http://maqasid.wordpress.com/2007/05/16/ruling-regarding-animal-rennet-in-cheese-sheikh-salman-al-oadah/  

http://www.islam-qa.com/index.php?ref=2841&ln=eng&txt=Animal%20Rennet  

As you can see there is quite a Ikhtilaf on the issue and as one of the answers says you can probably get away with eating something that has Rennet in it, but piety and scrupulousness would entail staying away.  

Your thoughts and comments are welcome 

Was Salaam 

Jashim

Advertisements

One thought on “Pick of the Day – Animal Rennet Halaal or haraam”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s